Remembering…

“Do not deny growing old, it is a privilege denied to many”

Today I wanted to write about a friend of mine who was taken from this world much too early. Three years have passed and I cannot begin to describe to you how much this world misses our angel.. I admit I attempt to block out what happened and try to continue on with my day but if I’m honest with myself I could say that I will never truly accept that she is gone.

She touched all of our lives in ways that we never understood, at least not until she was no longer here to do so.. I grew up knowing she was different, she could make anyone smile, laugh or turn someone’s day around.

I can’t be selfish and wish that she were still here for me, and yet I constantly find myself wishing she were back here.. I want to express my deepest condolences that on this day, for the rest of their lives, B’s family will always remember her last moments with them and that they have to spend eternity waiting to be rejoined with her.

B I wish you all the peace in the world, and I wish I could say something that might help ease the pain of today for everyone, but more importantly I wish three years ago I could have said something that might have helped your pain. Loss isn’t easy, but just know that losing you was the hardest thing for our town to go through, and your death affected every single member of our community. You will never be forgotten, you’ve impacted way too many lives for that. I am sorry that you never got to go on a proper date, attend prom or graduate high school. I am devastated that you will never experience college, or your first true love and that I will never get the opportunity to see you in a beautiful white dress. But you taught me so much about what it truly means to live, and that I should never take anything for granted. I hope that I can make you smile from where you are, and that I’m not letting you down.

The pain of losing you isn’t so immense anymore B, just a tingling reminder to live each day as if it were my last.. as if I never knew what was going to happen tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

